top of page

Mountain Call

I've written before about resolutions and disappointments. It was my intention this year of posting here once a week, and the time between this post and my last is rather disappointing. But such is life. In that time, I've found my way back to my work-in-progress: the thesis I submitted for my MFA, my novel.

With just under five chapters left to go, the finish line is fast approaching. I am aiming to complete my last chapter this weekend from my favorite spot surrounded by my favorite mountains.

This deadline is one I gave myself because

1.) I love deadlines and 2.) "the mountains are calling and I must go." And when I say mountains, I mean the inspiring landscape of New Hampshire where my favorite writer friends will be gathering to graduate. I can't think of any better place to complete this work.

Just about a year ago, I sat at this same spot to begin anew, restructuring my novel for the last semester of grad school; this was a decision that was both terrifying and rewarding. While I've changed the beginning more times than I can count, deleted more pages than I care to admit, my dedication to this project has never been stronger.

Together with the mountains, my mentors, and these wonderful writers, I became the writer I needed to be. And I can't wait to return to this place, which makes me feel inspired, loved, and understood.

I look forward to getting back to this blog as I complete this project, which has been in progress for two years. I hope this will be a place where I continue to write about my writing, my favorite books; the literary world I so love.

All best,

Kayla King

bottom of page